What Stigma? Update

Now I don’t normally just post like this, but for anyone who may have been waiting to see What Stigma? I felt I should.

I had intended What Stigma? to be up online today, but I’ve decided to hold it back for a few reasons. The first is simple enough, I don’t quite know what to do with it. I’m seeking advice from my dissertation supervisor because I’ve had some positive feedback and that means I should try to make the most of it by seeking screenings or broadcast.

Of course, I have absolutely no idea how to approach broadcast, but screenings I can handle. I’m hoping for some good advice with broadcast, but it probably won’t happen.

I’ve had a bit of luck and managed to get Right (of Way) and Nunday into the Underground Cinema Film Festival – a festival for independent films. Nunday is also nominated for best documentary at the Underground Cinema Awards, so perhaps I have a decent chance with festivals for What Stigma? Sigh. A girl (or boy, as it were) can dream.

Anything I’ve entered thus far hasn’t been against the film being online, but some I’m considering entering are, and I’d be disqualified were it available freely. I’d imagine it’s the same for broadcast, more or less. Because of this I’m holding back the film’s eventual release into the internet wild. Apologies if you wanted to see it, I’m hoping I’ll be able to get a bit more attention for it this way and if nothing else, the message is right, so hopefully that bit more publicity is worth keeping it under wraps for a while.

If you really want to see it I’ll keep the blog and twitter up to date about any screenings, and depending on a few things it may be online soon anyway. Till then enjoy the trailer!

– James

PS that is a still from the film. Yes, it has kickboxing, and yes, it’s still about mental health stigma!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 359 other followers

  • Archive

