Transit of Venus – The Best of NASA’s Live Stream Commentary

I started watching the live stream of the transit of Venus expecting an impressive celestial event. I got one, NASA’s commentary team. They were out of this world. Here are some of their best bits.

 

You should not ever look at the sun.

 

This transit is important because it allows us to calibrate our equipment.

 

The rotation of Venus is one of the great mysteries of space.

You sure it’s not just Superman flying around up there?

 

Magnetoshperence is my favourite word.

 

This is speculation, because I’m not a planetary atmospheric scientist, but flares have an important effect on Earth.

 

That’s basically textbook magnetospherence.

 

I’m guessing Venus is an important place to study that sort of phenomenon.

 

Speaking of astronomy class Lou, what did you go over with your astronomy class this semester?

 

Mercury, for reasons involving the laws of physics, goes faster around the sun.

 

Back in the 1700’s the astronauts of the day were explorers. They didn’t have maps. They didn’t have google.

 

We’ve already been to Mars. With robots.

 

If you never make it to the surface of the moon or mars, the peak of Mauna Kea is pretty close.

 

The internet has not been around for a hundred years, so Mr. Eclipse could not have been around that long.

 

Most people think scientists are quiet and reserved… they LOVE the microphone!

 

It’s a planet fest out there right now.

 

I’ve learned more about astronomy in the last thirty minutes than I know about myself, and I’ve lived with myself my whole life.

 

Operating at high altitude requires a buddy system. It’s like scuba diving in reverse.

 

We’re gonna have students out here later to do a paper plate demonstration, but I’ll try to do the best I can without that prop.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 359 other followers

  • Archive

